Glossary

- 1. **Seismic Zones**-The latest version of seismic zoning map of India given in the earthquake resistant design code of assigns four levels of seismicity for India in terms of zone factors. In other words, the earthquake zoning map of India divides India into 4 seismic zones (Zone 2, 3, 4 and 5).
- 2. *Firm Soil* Those soils which have an allowable bearing capacity of more than 10 t/m2 are classified as firm soil.
- 3. **Soft Soil-**Those soils, which have allowable bearing capacity less than or equal to 10 t/m2 are classified as soft soil.
- **4. Weak Soil-**Those soils, which are liable to large differential settlement, or liquefaction during an earthquake are classified as weak soil.